Author Archives : Paul Fauteux

Transformative Mediation in Nunavik: Intervention of Paul Fauteux

On August 25, 2017, Posted by , In En,News from CMKZ,

During the Ninth International Meetings of the Institute of Mediation in the Francophone Space recently held in Montreal, Mr Paul Fauteux of CMKZ participated on August 16, 2017 in a session on “Mediation at the heart of the company: managing beliefs, rules, values ​​and rituals”. In front of an audience…

Commercial Mediation and Quebec’s New Code of Civil Procedure

On April 16, 2016, Posted by , In En,International Analysis,

On January 1, 2016, Québec’s new Code of Civil Procedure (NCCP) entered into force.  This important reform, the first of its kind since 2002, is intended to make justice more accessible, particularly by favouring private dispute prevention and resolution (DPR) processes such as negotiation, mediation and arbitration. The central role…

Paris Climate Agreement: Canada’s Return to Favour

On January 4, 2016, Posted by , In En,International Analysis,

Adopted by consensus on December 12th, 2015 by the 195 countries represented at the 21th Conference of the Parties (COP 21) to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate change, the Paris Agreement kicks off the decarbonization of the global economy. The Agreement sets an upper limit to global warming…

Cuba Opens Up to Foreign Trade and Investments

On November 19, 2015, Posted by , In En,International Analysis,

In the wake of Cuba and the U.S. reopening their Embassies in each other’s capital on July 1, 2015, the 33rd annual FIHAV (Feria Internacional de La Habana) trade fair, held from November 2 to 7, illustrated increasing international interest in the Cuban government’s decision to make the island a…

Getting paid by the United Nations

On October 3, 2015, Posted by , In Business Cases,En,News from CMKZ,

The United Nations International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR) hires one of our Canadian clients as Defense Counsel and later refuses to pay all her fees.  Having exhausted available remedies in the United Nations (UN) system,  she files an action on account in the Superior Court of Quebec in Montreal,…

Athens, Auckland City, Barcelona, Belfast, Belgrade, Bolzano, Bordeaux, Boston, Brussels, Bucharest, Budapest, Buenos Aires, Chicago, Colorado, Copenhagen, D.F. Mexico, Dubai, Dublin, Frankfurt, Frederikshavn, Geneva, Hamburg, Helsinki, Herzliya Pituach, Hong Kong, Innsbruck, Istanbul, Izmir, Jounieh, Kiev, Kuala Lumpur, Lagos, Leeds, Leeuwarden, Lima, Limassol, Lisbon, Ljubljana, London, Los Angeles, Luxembourg, Lyon, Melbourne, Miami, Milan, Modena, Montreal, Moscow, Mumbai, München, New Delhi, New York, Nice, Nicosia, Oldenburg, Paphos, Paris, Phoenix, Prague, Richmond, Rome, Saint Paul, San Francisco, Santo Domingo, São Paulo, Seoul, Shanghai, Singapore, Sofia, St Petersburg, Stuttgart, Sydney, Tallinn, The Hague, Tokyo, Tucson, Vaduz, Valletta, Warsaw, Zurich

Author Archives : Paul Fauteux

Médiation transformative au Nunavik: Intervention de Paul Fauteux

On 25 août 2017, Publié par , dans Actualités CMKZ,

Dans le cadre des Neuvièmes rencontres internationales de l’Institut de la Médiation dans l’Espace Francophone, récemment tenues à Montréal, Me Paul Fauteux de CMKZ a participé le 16 août 2017 à une journée placée sous le thème «La médiation au cœur de l’entreprise : gérer des croyances, des règles, des…

La médiation commerciale et le nouveau Code de Procédure Civile du Québec

On 17 janvier 2016, Publié par , dans Analyse internationale,

Le 1er janvier 2016, le nouveau Code de procédure civile (NCPC) du Québec est entré en vigueur.  Cette importante réforme, la première du genre depuis 2002, vise à rendre la justice plus accessible, notamment en privilégiant les modes privés de prévention et de règlement des différends (PRD) tels que la…

Accord de Paris sur le climat: Le retour en grâce du Canada

On 23 décembre 2015, Publié par , dans Analyse internationale,

Adopté par consensus le 12 décembre 2015 par les 195 pays représentés à la 21e Conférence des parties (COP 21) à la Convention Cadre des Nations Unies sur les changements climatiques (CCNUCC), l’Accord de Paris donne le coup d’envoi à la dé-carbonisation de l’économie mondiale. Cet Accord fixe une limite…

Cuba s’ouvre au commerce et à l’investissement étrangers

On 19 novembre 2015, Publié par , dans Analyse internationale,

  Suite à la réouverture par Cuba et les États-Unis de leurs ambassades dans la capitale l’un de l’autre le 1er juillet 2015, la 33e foire commerciale annuelle FIHAV (Feria Internacional de La Habana), qui s’est tenue du 2 au 7 novembre, a illustré l’intérêt international croissant suscité par la…

Se faire payer par les Nations Unies

On 3 octobre 2015, Publié par , dans Cas-clients,

Le Tribunal pénal international des Nations Unies pour le Rwanda (TPIR) engage une de nos clientes canadiennes à titre d’avocate de la défense et refuse plus tard de payer tous ses honoraires.  Ayant épuisé les recours à sa disposition dans le système de l’Organisation des Nations Unies (ONU), celle-ci dépose…