Paul Fauteux, LL.M.

Available | Disponible : French Spanish

Paul Fauteux, LL.M.
Attorney & Mediator

International Law Specialist, Mediator and Arbitrator


Paul Fauteux is an attorney who practices public international law, environmental law and Aboriginal law.  He also acts as an accredited mediator and arbitrator to resolve civil and commercial disputes, both national and international.

Paul Fauteux is one of six Canadians to hold the Diploma of The Hague Academy of International Law, a very high-level diploma awarded to candidates who have a thorough knowledge of international law and who pass an extremely selective examination.  Before joining CMKZ, Me Fauteux worked for the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade, where he was posted to the Canadian Embassies in Nairobi, Paris and Washington, inter alia, and participated or headed Canadian participation in the negotiation of more than 50 international agreements.  He was a member of the Canadian teams in the Dispute Concerning Filleting in the Gulf of Saint-Lawrence (France vs. Canada) before an international arbitral tribunal and the Fisheries Jurisdiction Case (Spain vs. Canada) before the International Court of Justice.

Paul Fauteux was later Director General of Environment Canada’s Climate Change Bureau and Co-Head of the Canadian delegation in the international negotiations on the implementation of the Kyoto Protocol.  He was also Director General of Lands at Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada and carried out a research project on Reserve Land and First Nations Development.

At CMKZ, today Paul Fauteux enables his clients to benefit from his expertise in public international law, environmental law and Aboriginal law, and acts as an expert witness before the Courts.  He also makes available his experience as a seasoned negotiator and mediator to companies and individuals to help them devise their own solutions in a climate of trust and respect.  He acts as an external mediator at the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board of Canada.

Moreover, he draws upon his broad experience and detailed knowledge of the workings of the Government of Canada to support companies by representing them before various departments, government agencies and Crown corporations.

Paul Fauteux has been a member of the Board of Directors of the Institut de médiation et d’arbitrage du Québec since 2013.  In that capacity he actively contributes to making justice more accessible by supporting the increased use of mediation and arbitration, as well as to the change in legal culture signaled by the entry into force on January 1, 2016 of Quebec’ new Code of Civil Procedure


Languages

  • French
  • English
  • Spanish
  • Italian

Education

  • Diploma, The Hague Academy of International Law, 1991
  • Master’s degree in Law, McGill University, Institute of Air and Space Law, 1981
  • Called to the Quebec Bar, 1980
  • Licence en Droit, Université de Montréal, 1979

Accreditations as a mediator

  • Quebec Bar
  • France-Quebec Mediation Service
  • Institut de médiation et d’arbitrage du Québec
  • Language Rights Support Programme
  • Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board of Canada
  • Quebec Ministry of Justice

Professional Associations

  • ADR Institute of Canada
  • Institut de médiation et d’arbitrage du Québec
  • Association of Professional Executives of the Public Service of Canada
  • Canadian Council of International Law
  • International Council on Environmental Law
  • Professional Association of Foreign Service Officers
  • Quebec Bar

Teaching

  • École du Barreau du Québec, Lecturer, International Arbitration
  • Faculty of Law of the University of Ottawa, Lecturer, Mediation and Participative Justice

Publications

Paul Fauteux has written over 20 articles on International Law.

Paul Fauteux, LL.M., Méd.Acc

Available | Disponible : Anglais Espagnol

Paul Fauteux, LL.M., Méd.Acc
Avocat et médiateur

Spécialiste du droit international, médiateur et arbitre


Paul Fauteux est avocat en droit international public, en droit de l’environnement et en droit autochtone.  Il agit également en tant que médiateur accrédité et arbitre pour régler des différends civils et commerciaux, tant nationaux qu’internationaux.

Paul Fauteux est l’un des six canadiens à détenir le Diplôme de l’Académie de droit international de La Haye, un diplôme de très haut niveau attribué à des candidats possédant des connaissances approfondies en droit international au terme d’un examen à caractère hautement sélectif. Avant de se joindre à CMKZ, Me Fauteux a œuvré au sein du ministère des Affaires étrangères et du commerce international, où il a notamment été affecté aux Ambassades du Canada à Nairobi, Paris et Washington, et a participé ou dirigé la participation canadienne à la négociation de plus de 50 accords internationaux. Il a été membre des équipes canadiennes dans l’Affaire concernant le filetage à l’intérieur du golfe du Saint-Laurent (France c. Canada) devant un tribunal d’arbitrage international et l’Affaire de la compétence en matière de pêcheries (Espagne c. Canada) devant la Cour internationale de Justice.

Me Fauteux a ensuite été Directeur général du Bureau des changements climatiques d’Environnement Canada et co-chef de la délégation canadienne dans les négociations internationales sur la mise en œuvre du Protocole de Kyoto. Il a également été Directeur général des Terres à Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada et a réalisé un projet de recherche sur les terres de réserve et le développement des Premières nations.

Au sein de CMKZ, Me Fauteux fait aujourd’hui bénéficier ses clients de son expertise en droit international public, en droit de l’environnement et en droit autochtone, et agit à titre de témoin-expert auprès des tribunaux.  Il met aussi son expérience de négociateur et de médiateur chevronné au service des sociétés et des particuliers en les aidant à façonner eux-mêmes leurs propres solutions dans un climat de confiance et de respect.  Il agit à titre de médiateur externe à la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique du Canada.

De plus, il met sa vaste expérience et sa connaissance approfondie des rouages du gouvernement du Canada au service des entreprises en les représentant auprès de divers ministères, agences gouvernementales et sociétés de la Couronne.

Me Fauteux est membre du Conseil d’administration de l’Institut de médiation et d’arbitrage du Québec depuis 2013.  À ce titre il contribue activement à rendre la justice plus accessible en favorisant une utilisation accrue de la médiation et de l’arbitrage, ainsi qu’au changement de culture juridique que signale l’entrée en vigueur le 1er janvier 2016 du nouveau Code de procédure civile du Québec.


Langues

  • Français
  • Anglais
  • Espagnol
  • Italien

Formation

  • Diplôme, Académie de Droit International de La Haye, 1991
  • Maîtrise en droit, Université McGill, Institut de droit aérien et spatial, 1981
  • Barreau du Québec, 1980
  • Licence en droit, Université de Montréal, 1979

Accréditations à titre de médiateur

  • Barreau du Québec
  • Ministère de la Justice du Québec
  • Service franco-québécois de médiation
  • Institut de médiation et d’arbitrage du Québec
  • Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique du Canada
  • Programme d’appui aux droits linguistiques

Associations professionnelles

  • Institut d’arbitrage et de médiation du Canada
  • Institut de médiation et d’arbitrage du Québec
  • Association professionnelle des agents du Service extérieur
  • Association professionnelle des cadres supérieurs de la Fonction publique du Canada
  • Conseil canadien de droit international
  • International Council on Environmental Law
  • Barreau du Québec

Enseignement

  • École du Barreau du Québec, Chargé de cours, Arbitrage international
  • Faculté de droit de l’Université d’Ottawa, Chargé de cours, Médiation et justice participative

Publications

MFauteux est l’auteur d’une vingtaine d’articles sur le droit international.