Jean-Philippe Gervais

Available | Disponible : French

Jean-Philippe Gervais
Attorney (Quebec and New York)

Commercial Litigation and Bankruptcy and Insolvency Specialist


Member of the Québec Bar since 1993 and holding diplomas in both civil law and common law from McGill University and member of the New York Bar since 1994, as well as the American Bar Association and the New York State Bar Association, Jean-Philippe Gervais has over 20 years of experience in civil and commercial litigation, particularly in the field of bankruptcy and insolvency nationally and internationally.  He has appeared and pleaded before all the Courts of the Province of Québec, as well as before the Federal Court of Canada and the Supreme Court of Canada.  He has also advised clients involved in transnational litigation, more particularly in insolvency and restructuring matters.

In the course of his practice, he has acted for all parties involved in the insolvency process :  bankruptcy trustees, debtors both corporate and individual, secured and ordinary creditors, unions and individual salaried employees.  He has been involved in important bankruptcy and restructuring files, both under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and the Companies’ Creditors Arrangement Act.  Jean-Philippe Gervais has also developed a particular expertise in the field of the ethical liability of bankruptcy trustees, and was directly involved in most major files of this nature over the past 20 years.  He has also participated as speaker and instructor in numerous conferences organized by the Canadian Bar Association, the Canadian Institute and private trustee firms.

In addition to this specialized practice, Jean-Philippe Gervais also acts in matters related to general civil and property disputes, banking litigation, estate matters and general liability claims, having pleaded in particular several important files over the past 20 years related to the liability of directors under the Companies Act and the Business Corporations Act.

Before joining CMKZ in 2017, Me Gervais practiced in his own firm.


Languages

  • French
  • English

Education

  • Called to the Bar of New York, 1994
  • Called to the Bar of Quebec, 1993
  • Bachelor’s Degree in Common Law, Université McGill, 1992
  • Bachelor’s Degree in Civil Law, Université McGill, 1992

Current Professional Associations

  • Member, Bar of Québec
  • Member, New York State Bar Association
  • Member, American Bar Association

Publications

Jean-Philippe Gervais

Available | Disponible : Anglais

Jean-Philippe Gervais
Avocat (Québec et New York)

Spécialiste en litige commercial, droit de la faillite et de l’insolvabilité


Membre du Barreau du Québec depuis 1993, diplômé en droit civil et en common law de l’université McGill et membre du Barreau de l’État de New York depuis 1994, ainsi que de l’American Bar Association et du New York State Bar Association, Jean-Philippe Gervais compte plus de 20 années d’expérience en litige civil et commercial, particulièrement dans le domaine du droit de la faillite et de l’insolvabilité au niveau national et international.  Il a plaidé devant tous les tribunaux du Québec, ainsi que devant la Cour fédérale du Canada et la Cour suprême du Canada.  Il a été appelé à conseiller des clients impliqués dans des litiges transfrontaliers, notamment en matière de restructuration d’entreprises et d’insolvabilité internationale

Dans le cadre de sa pratique, il a agi pour tous les intervenants en matière de faillite :  syndics de faillite, débiteurs corporatifs et personnels, créanciers ordinaires et garantis, syndicats et salariés.  À ce titre, il a été impliqué dans d’importants dossiers de faillite comme de restructuration, tant en vertu de la Loi sur la faillite et l’insolvabilité que de la Loi sur les arrangements avec les créanciers des compagnies.  Me Gervais a également développé une expertise en matière du droit déontologique des syndics de faillite, agissant dans la plupart des principaux dossiers de cette nature au cours des derniers 20 ans.  Il a également participé comme conférencier invité et formateur à de nombreux colloques organisés par le Barreau canadien, l’Institut Canadien, ainsi que des firmes de syndics.

En sus de sa pratique dans ce champ de spécialité, Me Gervais est actif en matière de litige civil, successoral, bancaire et dans les dossiers de responsabilité, ayant plaidé notamment certains dossiers marquants des derniers 20 ans en matière de responsabilité des administrateurs en vertu de la Loi sur les compagnies et de la Loi sur les sociétés par actions.

Avant de se joindre à CMKZ en 2017, Me Gervais exerçait sa pratique au sein de son propre cabinet.


Langues

  • Français
  • Anglais

Formation

  • Barreau de l’État de New York, 1994
  • Barreau du Québec, 1993
  • Baccalauréat en common law, Université McGill, 1992
  • Baccalauréat en droit civil, Université McGill, 1992

Associations professionnelles

  • Membre, Barreau du Québec
  • Membre, New York State Bar Association
  • Membre, American Bar Association

Publications